From small town to Asian enclave

It’s been one year since I moved to Los Angeles from the High Desert. One year and 4 months to be exact, and it’s so strange to finally feel like I have a solid routine in place. I feel like I’m finally settled in.

Living in LA county has been for the most part really, really fun. I enjoy the hustle and bustle of the city life which is the polar opposite of the quiet town I left behind. Waking up every morning and watching the little old ladies walk up and down my street, being able to walk my daughter to school every morning, and having the elote man show up every evening, are some of the perks I find myself really enjoying.

I know, I wrote elote man and Asian enclave in the same post, but I do live in a primarily Chinese area. There are so many good restaurants and culture; not to mention Asian markets and pastry shops mmmm…. I suppose it wouldn’t be LA county without the fusion right?

20141120_165206.jpg

But I do miss my old home. I miss the quiet. I miss being able to look at the stars at night. I miss having my own room (sharing a room with a 9 year old while finishing school is not fun, but that’s for another post ). I miss having my dogs who unfortunately had to stay with my mom. I miss the almost complacent moment in my life where work was comfortable and my education was in the back burner.

Here I am, one year later thinking back to how much has changed in a year and how much more will change now in 2017. I’m really grateful of how my life is going. Maybe it’s because I’m on break before my last semester in college and I have actual time to relax, but I’m definitely happier than I was a year ago.

*elote man- if you don’t know, you need to ask somebody

Leave a Reply

